Review – Her Defiant Heart (Damaged Hearts #1) by Monica Murphy

Her Defiant Heart ebook

Her Defiant Heart by Monica Murphy
Series: Damaged Hearts #1
Genres: New Adult Romance
Release Date: March 29, 2018
Buy Now: iBooks


Life can feel like a cruel joke. I grew up poor and motherless, with a father who never got over his wife’s abandonment. But now he’s gone too, and I’m dead set on finding the woman who so carelessly tossed me aside when I was a baby.

I want revenge. And I’m going to get back at my mother any way that I can.

I change my name. Start my new life in college, and just happen to cross paths with the gorgeous, ultra-rich Rhett Montgomery. He’s immediately interested in me, not that I’m surprised.

You see, I planned it that way. I meant for him to find me. He’s the one connection to my mother, and I’m using him, so I can destroy her. But I didn’t plan on Rhett being so charming. Sweet. Sexy.

And I definitely didn’t plan on falling for him either…


When Monica Murphy first announced her upcoming Damaged Hearts series I was so freaking excited because I have read and loved many of her past releases, but nothing could have prepared me for this story.

Her Defiant Heart is the kind of story that captures you whole body and soul right from the very beginning and holds on for dear life. This is not a story filled with love, hope and happiness, but rather a story fueled by revenge and hate. Revenge plays a crucial part in this series and I am anticipating that it will certainly grow from one book to the next.

Jensen is driven by revenge and it is directed towards her mother, the mother that abandoned her at a young age only to go off and raise another family with children who are not her own. That realization is a bitter pill to swallow and she is engulfed in rage. She devises a plan to get to her mother through Rhett Montgomery, but what she doesn’t anticipate is developing feelings for him. Suddenly, she must make a decision…to continue her plan…or to let it go and move on.

I devoured this story in only a few short hours and now I cannot wait to dive into His Wasted Hearts, book 2 in the Damaged Hearts series when it releases because I need to know what is next for Jensen and Rhett, especially after that intense ending!



About Monica Murphy

Monica Murphy is the New York Times, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of the One Week Girlfriend series, the Billionaire Bachelors and The Rules series. Her books have been translated in almost a dozen languages and has sold over one million copies worldwide. She is both self-published and published by Random House/Bantam and Harper Collins/Avon. She writes new adult, young adult and contemporary romance.

She is a wife and a mother of three who lives in central California on fourteen acres in the middle of nowhere along with their one dog and too many cats. A self-confessed workaholic, when she’s not writing, she’s reading or hanging out with her husband and kids. She’s a firm believer in happy endings, though she will admit to putting her characters through angst-filled moments before they finally get that hard won HEA.

Connect with author: WebsiteFacebookAmazon Goodreads


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s