Review – Where I Found You (Heart’s Compass #1) by Brooke O’Brien


Where I Found You by Brooke O’Brien
Series: Heart’s Compass #1
Genre: New Adult, Suspense
Release Date: May 8, 2017
Buy Now: Amazon


How do you protect your heart?

Build a wall.
Lock it away.
Let no one in.

Everyone should have a childhood worth remembering. Only I remember mine for all the wrong reasons. Starting over in a new town is hard enough. When you are running from your past, it doesn’t get any easier.

I was ready to say goodbye to the burdens I have carried. The pain I’ve experienced is more than anyone should have to face.

Then I met him…

He takes my breath away. I can’t ignore the way he makes me feel. I know he has the power to destroy me.

And that’s what scares me the most.


This is the first book in the Heart’s Compass series. It’s a New Adult/Suspense Romance and is told from both character’s POV. Due to strong sexual content, coarse language and mature subject matter this book is not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.


I would like to just start this off by congratulating the beautifully talented Brooke O’Brien on her debut novel! This story was truly a FIVE star read and I am so fortunate to have a front row seat to her writing career! It’s amazing that this is the author’s first release because if I hadn’t know that little fact going in I would have never expected. She has a pure talent with words and did an excellent job developing her characters. Within a few pages I was hooked and I quickly found myself deeply invested in Ellie and Callum’s love story!

Ellie and Callum meet by chance on a bus heaving to Iowa and the sparks were instantly flying around. While Ellie is initially closed off, we see right before our eyes as Callum slowly begins to peel away layer after layer of her self doubt until her emotions for him are fully exposed. Their chemistry radiates right off of the pages and it left my heart melting chapter after chapter. If you are on the search for a story that makes you laugh, cry and scream all at the same time then look no further because Where I Found You does just that and so much more. From start to finish I was on the edge of my seat in anticipation as to what would happen next.


About Brooke O’Brien

Brooke O’Brien is the author of the Heart’s Compass series. Her debut novel, Where I Found You, is set to release on May 8th, 2017.

Brooke lives in the Midwest with her high school sweetheart and their three children (both human and furry). Growing up Brooke always had a love of writing; she started out writing poetry when she was young and began journaling her thoughts as she grew older. Diving head first into a good book has always been therapeutic for her. Now her two passions have collided.

Brooke believes that you can cure any bad day with chocolate and a good book. She enjoys spending time with her family, collecting signed paperbacks, going to the movies, and watching basketball and football.

Connect with the author: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Categories Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s